Colorado Congressional Delegation Continues to Press Trump to Extend and Expand Funding to Support Colorado National Guard COVID-19 Response Efforts

December 3, 2020
Press Release
Lawmakers Push Administration to Authorize Funding for Colorado National Guard to Support Future Vaccination Efforts

Washington, D.C. – Today, the entire Colorado Congressional Delegation sent a third letter to President Donald Trump asking for extended and expanded federal funding for the Colorado National Guard (CONG) to support their efforts in the fight against the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19). Colorado Governor Jared Polis also sent his formal request to Trump on November 23, 2020, asking for an extension of federal authorization and funding through July 31, 2021. The funding was originally approved on April 7, 2020, and is set to expire at the end of this year. 

“COVID-19 cases across the nation are rising rapidly. Unfortunately, Colorado is not an exception. The state continues to balance economic recovery and preservation while prioritizing health and safety. In order to accomplish these interdependent missions, the assistance of the Colorado National Guard remains essential,” wrote the members of the delegation. 

In light of the recent news of key vaccine developments, the lawmakers wrote: “...the Colorado National Guard will play a critical role in the distribution and management of vaccine administration sites as new vaccines become available. We support Governor Polis’s request that these vaccine-related activities also be eligible for Title 32 authorized activities.”

Today’s request follows Bennet and the delegation’s April letter and July letter to the president requesting extended federal funding for the Colorado National Guard. In August, the administration approved an extension of this funding which is now set to expire on December 31, 2020.

The letter was signed by Colorado U.S. Senators Michael Bennet (D), and Cory Gardner (R), and Colorado U.S. Representatives Diana DeGette (D), Joe Neguse (D), Scott Tipton (R), Ken Buck (R), Doug Lamborn (R), Jason Crow (D), and Ed Perlmutter (D). 

The text of the letter is available HERE.