U.S. Chamber of Commerce: Lamborn Awarded Annual Spirit of Enterprise Award

April 1, 2009
Press Release


Washington, Mar 30 -


Contact: J.P. Fielder 202 463 5682


Representative Lamborn Presented with the 
U.S. Chamber’s Annual Spirit of Enterprise Award

Colorado Lawmaker Recognized for Support of Key Business Issues


WASHINGTON, D.C.-Today the U.S. Chamber of Commerce honored Representative Doug

Lamborn (R-CO-05) with the Spirit of Enterprise Award for his support of pro-growth

legislation during the second session of the 110th Congress.


"Last year in particular, Congress had to make some tough choices, and Representative Lamborn

clearly demonstrated his commitment to the economy and keeping America competitive in an

ever-changing global market," said Thomas J. Donohue, president and CEO of the U.S.

Chamber. "The Chamber is proud to present Representative Lamborn with the Spirit of

Enterprise Award on behalf of businesses large and small."


Eligibility for the award is based on how members of Congress vote on key business issues,

which the Chamber outlines in its yearly publication How They Voted. These designated "key

votes" are recorded floor votes on issues established as priorities on which the Chamber

communicates its position prior to the vote. Those members of Congress who support the

Chamber’s position on at least 70% of those votes receive the Spirit of Enterprise Award.


According to the scorecard, Representative Lamborn maintained an 83% rating with the

Chamber this year and collectively holds a 77% ranking during his tenure in Congress.


The Chamber key-voted 8 Senate and 18 House votes in 2008, including the Ledbetter Act to

eliminate the statute of limitations for pay discrimination lawsuits, the Emergency Economic

Stabilization Act, a nuclear cooperation agreement with India, a bill ensuring the solvency of the

Highway Trust Fund, and the College Opportunity & Affordability Act to lower tuition costs and

streamline the financial aid process.


To view a complete list of the 2008 Spirit of Enterprise recipients, please visit